“YESsss!”… “Cha-ching!”…. “OH YEAHHHH”… Homeschool Victory of the Week!

I suppose it was Tuesday of this week and I was doing laundry. Of course, that could be most any day but I believe it was Tuesday. Boy3 (2nd Grader) walks in to the mud room and shows me his work on the Flashmaster.

I highly recommend the Flash Master if sitting with your child doing flashcards makes you think you’ll loose your mind. WELL worth EV-ER-Y penny!!! I make  no money from them 🙂 This is a great, compact, electronic tool that functions practically as a flashcard-computer. You can drill addition, subtraction, multiplication as well as division facts. You set the level of difficulty and if you want the missed problems repeated or not. Ok. Comercial over.

Boy3 is supposed to be working speed drills on addition and subtraction. He shows me the flashmaster and it’s set on multiplication tables. “Oh, Boy3, look… you’re supposed to be doing addition and subtraction speed drills… not multiplication… you have to switch it out after Boy2 (4th grader) does his work.”

Here’s the Hallelujah Chorus moment…

“Oh, mom… I know how to do multiplication.”

“What? How?” (All the while I’m thinkin’, “yeah right.”)

“Boy2 taught me last week.”

“I’m sorry? Did you say Boy2 taught you?”

“Yeah, he taught me how to multiply numbers up to 2.” (translation: 0, 1 and 2 facts)

AAAAAAAHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!! V I C T O R Y! (Insert party dance here!)

He then proceeded to show me how he could work a set on his own with 100% accuracy.

This is one of the most rewarding moments as a homeschooling mom… when a big kid teaches a younger sibling how to do something. This time I was doulbly rewarded. He taught him MULTIPLICATION!!! It’s so good for all parties involved. When a big kid teaches a younger child they really have to think through the steps, the logic, the history or whatever is required for that particular task. They become the teacher and that is so good for their leadership skills. Not to mention that they take the time, effort and dare I say love required to teach that younger child.

I was so proud.

Now what? On to the 3s.

I hate multiplication tables… have I mentioned that?

Leave a Reply

