It’s all about L O V E

I had the privileged of going to see my friend today… Dr. Wirfs. I love Dr. Wirfs but I went because I could tell the fall (albeit questionable here in New Orleans) was taking a toll on my sinuses. I had to break down and make an appointment. Thanks to modern medicine, I am the owner of a celestone shot which gives me an extra energy boost… so I’ll be up for a while! 🙂 I decided to use my time wisely and post a blog. I decided to share some of the thoughts the Lord is impressing on me.

my baby girls

Strength for the day… If I’m honest, when “those” people (we homeschoolers all know “those” people, ha!) who make comments about how patient I must be… how full my hands are… and how they couldn’t (wouldn’t) want my job… some days I just want to say, “YEP… you are SO right! I”m out of  my impatient mind! I would rather be workin’ a 9 to 5.” Then the Lord allows me a moment like He did just a couple days ago. Girl3 (age 2- in the foreground of this picture) was on her way upstairs to join her siblings in some sort of fun fest. She rounded the corner of the stairwell just out of my sight and her sweet voice said, “I yu you, Mommie.” Ahhhh. The Lord allowed her words to give me the courage to press on one more day! Praise the Lord! He is so faithful to me! He is teaching me to rely on Him for each word, each breath, every action… am I at 100%? Ha! Not even sniffin’ it… I’m a slow learner so I’m thankful I serve a patient God! Having the opportunity to teach my children at home is an incredible responsibility-  not just academics (which are very important, no doubt). It’s the daily goings-on… the little things, if you will, that provide the most opportunities to teach them. I pray the Lord finds me faithful in this great task.

I was so blessed by Boy1 the other day. 3 of the children and I set off to share some Light with a dark area of town. We baked some cookies (well, broke them apart, put them on a greased cookie sheet and put them in a hot oven…. that’s “baking” right?) and had the intention of sharing them with 3 contacts we’ve made in this neighborhood. Stop 1… fail. He wasn’t home. Stop 2… semi-fail. She wasn’t home but I was able to wedge a plate of cookies in her barred door with a note. Stop 3… success. We gave a goodie to a lady having a birthday. GREAT!  Although we have 1 plate of cookies left I start herding my crew toward the van thinking about who to give the last plate to. Before I could think, Girl1 suggested we give the plate to a rather disgruntled looking young man who had been staring at us the whole time. I spoke to him once asking if his neighbor was home… let’s just say he wasn’t “chatty.” He was pretty intimidating from my perspective. Boy 1 responds, “Yeah! Give it to me… I’ll take it.” So he popped out of the van and proceeded up the steps and asked if he would like some cookies (he was a teenager… easy sell). As Boy1 was walking down he waved back at that young man and made some type of statement like, “God bless you, man.” (in a very cool, teenage sort-of way) Wow. THAT is what this is ALL about. Teaching my children to LOVE the unlovely… the “scary”… the hungry… the outcast… the business man/woman in need of a Savior… If I don’t succeed here, I’m a failure. I’ll still be in heaven because I’ve given my life to Christ… but from an earthly sense, I’ve failed with the greatest gifts the Lord has given me… my children. Are they perfect? MERCY NO! haha… we gotta’ long way to go! But the Lord, in His time, is teaching me and He is teaching them. Sure, we gotta get reading, riting and rithmatic… but the Lord is showing me my job here as “teacher” is so much bigger!

It’s ALL about love… not just any love, the love of the one and only God… the King of Kings, Lord of all Lords, Jesus the Christ. The love that would cause a perfect God to choose to come to a fallen world and give His perfect life for me… and you. THAT, my friend, is a powerful love. It’s that love that motivates me to love others… my husband, children, family, friends, church body, stranger down the street and even my enemy. I was so excited to know the Lord may be calling us to New Orleans. I have always loved this city (yes, it has downsides… but there are wonderful aspects as well) Once we were in motion… packing and saying our good-byes I must confess I began to become fearful. I was fearful of moving my family to a city that is marked by evil and crime. Yikes… no thanks, right? We got here, plugged into an amazing church, and started working. I am so thankful that the Lord heard my prayers and has given me a heart for the people of this city. I can remember driving through the city at night, looking over the physical darkness and being aware of the spiritual darkness. I would sing, “You’re the God of this city.” Whether or not the city as a whole realizes that is irrelevant.

What IS love, you may ask?

Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. 5 It does not dishonor others, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. 6 Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. 7 It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres. 1Cor. 13

I love the Lincoln Brewster song… “The Power of Your Name.”  That will be my prayer in closing.

Surely children weren’t made for the streets
And fathers were not made to leave
Surely this isn’t how it should be
Let Your Kingdom come

Surely nations were not made for war
Or the broken meant to be ignored
Surely this just can’t be what You saw
Let Your Kingdom come
Here in my heart

And I will live
To carry *Your* compassion
To love a world that’s broken
To be Your hands and feet
And I will give
With the life that I’ve been given
And go beyond religion
To see the world be changed
By the power of Your name
The power of Your name

Surely life wasn’t made to regret
And the lost were not made to forget
Surely faith without action is dead
Let Your Kingdom come
Lord break this heart

And I will live
To carry *Your* compassion
To love a world that’s broken
To be Your hands and feet
And I will give
With the life that I’ve been given
And go beyond religion
To see the world be changed
By the power of Your name

Jesus Your name
Is a shelter for the hurting
and Your name
Is a refuge for the weak
Only Your name
Can redeem the undeserving
Jesus Your name
Holds everything I need

And I will live
To carry Your compassion
To love a world that’s broken
To be Your hands and feet
And I will give
With the life that I’ve been given
And go beyond religion
To see this world be changed
By the power of Your name

And I will live
To carry Your compassion
To love a world that’s broken
To be Your hands and feet
And I will give
With the life that I’ve been given
And go beyond religion
To see the world be changed
By the power of Your name

The power of Your name

May you be glorified, Christ Jesus, in my life…

2 thoughts on “It’s all about L O V E

  1. Exactly. God gave me an unexpected encouragement from Sean yesterday. A gracious friend gave us a bunch of clothes for Sean last week, and among them was a t-shirt that says something like “My Mom’s #1.” I really wasn’t going to keep it (too obvious that I *want* him to think that), but when I was asking him which shirts he liked, he asked me what it said. “Mom, I’ll keep that one.” Nice. I put it in the back of the closet for later (it’s about 2 sizes too big). So yesterday morning I send him to get dressed, and it’s taking a while….which means ‘go investigate.’ He’s searching through the closet trying to find THAT SHIRT! Seeing as we’ve been butting heads recently (eventually he’s going to learn that what Mom says Mom means), this was a nice surprise!

    Keep up the encouragement–I pray for y’all often!

    • What a sweet story, Christine! Yes, I’d let him wear that shirt to shreads… big, small… who cares. That was for sure one of those “glimpses” the Lord gives us! Hope you and that sweet baby are well…. I think of you often and look forward to seeing you all again!

Leave a Reply

