The Lord’s Lesson To Me Today…

I was rushing about today cleaning up as the children were going about their schooling… as the girls were vying for my attention… beginning to stress out about the clutter and grungy carpet. That was when the Lord gave me a glance into His goodness.

Just a few days ago I received a call from a friend. She is a member of a church were Greg served as an interim music guy a few months ago. She wanted to let us know that a 4 year old little boy (we’ll call him Jon) had died tragically the day before. Just months before he had been running around the church yard getting grass stains on his knees with my boys. Needless to say, this was devastating for the family and for the church as a whole. I can not begin to grasp the depth of the pain that family is feeling. I can not imagine the depth of the journey they will be facing over the next few weeks, months and years. Only the Lord can meet them where they are.

Back to today. I’ve mentioned it before (on my tour of messy homes) that I really like order, and cleanliness and no clutter. I HATE (not being too strong there) my house to be messy, but it seems like no matter how hard I work and fuss and complain it’s still messy. There may be moments that are tolerable, but overall, I’m pretty much always displeased. This is when Jon’s face popped in my mind. His family and friends would have never anticipated a “tomorrow” without him. It would be inconceivable. What if they could have known though… would they have worried about the dirty carpet… the smudges on the mirrors… what about the laundry that needed to be washed… the dishes lingering in the sink… of course not. Their time with their Jon would have been infinately more important. The Lord doesn’t promise us a tomorrow, a five years from now… or another breath. I want to live in the here and now… loving my children and not worrying about the floors.

I’ll never forget the last few visits I had with my mom. She was surrounded by her children, grandchildren and great grandchildren. She would have had it no other way. She was oblivious to the kitchen sink, the bathroom mirror and the dust bunnies under the sofa. She was soaking in each minute… holding hands, sharing sweet memories, touching faces and preparing to meet her Savior.

 

4 thoughts on “The Lord’s Lesson To Me Today…

  1. Michelle, I know I’m only on the outside looking in but, from all appearances, you do a wonderful job loving your kids with your words, actions, and affirmations. I loved what you said last night at the Freeze Off when two of your kids were in the finals: “they’re all good at something.” Yes, they are . . . and you are, too. Keep freezing ice cream, leading children’s choir, hanging at the pool, and doing whatever it is that you — and they — love to do. It seems to be working just fine!

    • You’re kind, Judi. Thanks for the encouraging words! They’re pretty incredible kids (If I may say so myself)! At the end of the day, it’s only the Lord’s goodness that we can give credit to.

  2. too sweet…and soo sad…prayn for your friend…that has got to be extremely devastating..even beyond words…and i agree with judi..we so appreciate all the other things you do….i could not thing of our world right now without your leadership in music..just luv you and your family!

Leave a Reply

