2 Years Today- NOBTS!

I love milestones. I like the sense of accomplishment they give me… however small they may be. Some of my favorite milestones are first birthdays, double digit birthdays… wedding anniversaries… leaving diapers, sleeping through the night…. all those things. Today our family celebrates an anniversary. The anniversary of our move to New Orleans and New Orleans Baptist Theological Seminary. Two years… hard to believe.

We chose to divide and conquer during the move. I drove down with Girl1, Girl2 and was very much pregnant with Girl3… oh and our Bassett Hound, Suzie. We left a day earlier than the guys so I could take Suzie to her new home. I did NOT want to detour the whole family on that journey. Needless to say, it was a long drive. We had to make frequent stops for pregnant mama and the dog… so funny! One stop was in Alabama. I don’t really know where we were but we decided to eat as well. We stopped at a Gas station/Arby’s/truck stop. Hey, it was the only option. I pulled over, let the dog walk around in the grass, re-loaded her, drove over to the Arby’s, cracked the windows (wasn’t too hot- don’t fret), unloaded the girls and went in to eat. Bathroom breaks for humans followed. As we were loading and getting gas Girl1 is beginning to stress out… a bug. “What is THAAATTT!!!”… I looked over expecting some sort of stinging monster. It was a love bug. So this is also the anniversary of Girl1 seeing her first love bug. What a milestone.

We had a rather uneventful drive, I’m happy to say.

We crossed over the Ponchartrain, I woke Girl1… “We’re getting close!!!” I’m not sure who was more excited me or her. As we drove across the industrial canal, I pointed out what continues to be one of the most beautiful sights in the city to me. Just as you reach the top of the bridge, you can see the beautiful city off to the left. If you look over to the right, you’ll see the steeple on our campus chapel. It stands tall, proud and brightly illuminated in the middle of a dark, desperate city. I began to feel weepy… “Lord, may you use the seminary, and our family to be a bright light in the middle of a dark city…”If you’ve never noticed this before… check it out! You’ won’t be disappointed!

We drove on campus, got our house keys from the guard shack and headed over to our street. As we were driving by, we heard and saw a ruckas… a fun ruckus. It was at the pool- across from our house- the lights were on and kids were EVERYWHERE! Swimming, watching the “Dive in” movie, laughing and having an all-out fantastic time. We knew we would love it here!

 

And we do. We love the seminary, we love New Orleans. We love our church, First Baptist New Orleans. We love the culture and we love the food. We love the people… the old and the new. We love living on campus and love being out in the community. I’m so thankful to be here… so unworthy… but so thankful that the Lord has allowed us to be a part of something so much bigger than us. The Lord is at work in this city. He is at work in the lives of seminary students and families. He is at work in my life. It is a beautiful place to be!

… come on over and visit us!

 

2 thoughts on “2 Years Today- NOBTS!

  1. It doesn’t feel like it’s been 2 years. We only moved in a few weeks after you guys! Wow! Thanks for being a blessing and a friend! 😀

  2. What a great story! I’m so glad God sent you guys to New Orleans. It’s been great getting to know you.

    We will soon have our 3 year anniversary…isn’t it crazy how time flies?!

Leave a Reply

