When You’re Done… You’re Done

Press on to the end!Well, it’s that time of year…. the end of school. How do you know your school year is over? When do you stop? Some school throughout the summer. I applaud them… but could NOT do that myself. I need a break as much, if not more,than the kids, haha! We will read through the summer… I’m not that nice 🙂

I am a goal-oriented person according to my natural persuasions. I like a goal. I find great enjoyment in setting a goal, working hard and seeing it accomplished. The problem with my being so goal oriented is that I tend to shy away from something if I can’t see a clear end point.

My mother was an incredible seamstress. We never had an abundance of money as I was growing up. Somehow my tastes never got that memo and I always seemed to pick (still do) the most expensive item in the store. I’m just drawn to those things. I remember walking through the isles of stores we could NEVER afford to shop in with mom. We would look at all the fashions and I would say, “I like this bodice, this skirt and the little details on the sleeve of this one…” She would make a mental note and we’d go home, buy some fabric and she’d be off. She was a perfectionist. Her work was nothing less than art. She taught me how to sew… all the basics… but I am SO impatient. Back to that goal thing… I want to start the dress and finish the same day… and I DON”T want to rip out a seam to save my life. So I don’t really sew. I mean, I made my daughter an outfit to wear for a Living History camp-out… nothing Mom would be pleased to present :)…

So back to homeschooling: There IS an end point to each year. But when do we get there and how do I know when we’re there? My philosophy is “When you’re done, you’re done.” Typically this time of year I will go through their school books and determine how much they must complete to be finished. Some books they will be required to complete, some I will pro-rate. Either way, I’ll set the goal and they will charge ahead to the finish line.

Won her age category in the 1 mile!

Brothers, I do not consider that I have made it my own. But one thing I do: forgetting what lies behind and straining forward to what lies ahead, I press on toward the goal for the prize of the upward call of God in Christ Jesus.   

Philippians 3:13-14 ESV 

2 thoughts on “When You’re Done… You’re Done

  1. Amen to being done. This Grandma is ready for summer. And so is her daughter. We both have the opinion at this point Chelle that school projects are more for the punishment of the parent (or grandparent) then benefit for the child. LOL I think we just failed “educator of the year” award. luv u

Leave a Reply

