A Man In The Making

Last week our 4 school age children had standardized testing. I am a little (well a lot actually) out of the habit of “early rise… breakfast routines… and out of the house.” So, as I’m rushing about making sure they are fed, groomed and out the door I decide to take a restroom break before loading myself in the van. As I am walking out it is strangely quiet and Boy1 walks over to me and quietly says, “Mom, do you realize I am about to take my first high-school standardized test?” It was over… I begin tearing up at the thought. “No, son… I didn’t think of that.”

We had a crazy night tonight. With Greg out of pocket, it was my job to be chauffeur. I stood there watching him practice baseball with his new team. He’s the oldest of kids on his team. Surreal. He’s so big… so strong. He took direction like a man.

On to soccer. The team he played with last weekend goofed off during their game. Well, this meant running suicides tonight. I dropped him off at 7:00 and went to get him for the last 15 or so minutes at 8:10. When I tell you that the coach ran them nearly to death… I mean it. He pressed on and worked hard to the end. I was so proud. The majority of the boys were saturated in sweat. He was so strong… so big. He ran like a man.

It seems like yesterday I was explaining to him that green beans would make him strong. So he immediately made a muscle with one arm while the other arm shoveled green beans in his mouth. So precious.

So where have the years gone…. it’s hard to say, but I am so proud… so blessed and overjoyed with my son. Thank you, Lord for the gift of children.

Behold, children are a heritage from the LORD, the fruit of the womb a reward. Like arrows in the hand of a warrior are the children of one’s youth. Blessed is the man who fills his quiver with them! He shall not be put to shame when he speaks with his enemies in the gate.
(Psalms 127:3-5 ESV)

5 thoughts on “A Man In The Making

  1. Aw, don’t make a pregnant lady cry! I’m so not ready for my boys to be making muscles that result in actual muscles popping up. I’m definitely enjoying their arms that resemble actual green beans for now. = )

    But what a good boy you have raised! I’m not around him often but when he does pass through the playground or by us on the sidewalk he always engages us and has played with Jathan which Jathan thinks is the greatest thing ever. You’re doing a great job, Michelle!

  2. Pingback: Birthday Fun « chronicles of a resolute mom

  3. typing in tears, too. Big, fat, crocodile tears. My boy1’s shoulders are broadening and every time I hug him, I’m reminded of how fast he is growing up. What an awesome responsibility we have as parents! That sits on me like a lead weight at times, but this morning I was reminded by Oswalt Chambers to roll those burdens back on the Lord and let him lead. Good news for me!!!

    • Yes… this growing up thing can be bitter sweet, can’t it! Is it not crazy to see their shoulder’s broaden, jaw squaring off and their knees getting all big… he’s taller than I am now (which isn’t a huge deal to anyone but me)… It is a joy to see them grow in the Lord and in His goodness!

Leave a Reply

