A Lesson In Being Content

We had a divide and conquer day today at the Woodward house.

We ate lunch at a great little pizza place today… Pizza Florence. From there Greg took the boys, got a new baseball glove for Boy1, practiced ball with they guys at Audubon, then went on to soccer with Boy1. They still haven’t made it home from their adventure. The girls and I went to our lovely, 2 story Target and “chopped” as Girl2 says. We got her a Little Mermaid swimsuit, a blue suit for Girl3, some trunks for Boy1 since he’s growing faster than I can keep up and some other stuff.  We pay, load and are waiting at a light to get back on Vets when I look over at Girl1 and say, “Ya know, Girl1, I love your nose. It’s so pretty… it’s just perfect… it’s the perfect balance between pointy-ness and round-ness… YOU have the nose I have always wanted.”  She proceeds to pull down the visor and examine her nose… trying to see it from all perspectives. She then looks at me and says, “WHAT!? It’s the same one you got.” Well. I tried to explain how hers was better than mine and she insisted they were the same… mine is

Cafe Du Monde & Hot Chocolate... mmmmm

just bigger (duh!)…

So she’s wrong first of all… her nose is “perfect” and mine isn’t but… the Lord reminded me to be content. I need to be content with my nose… my weight… my hair even though it’s really mostly gray at this point… I need to be content with the color of my teeth, my vehicle… the fact Target didn’t have the green shoes I want for this season. I’m reminded that there are thousands of men and women in Japan today who would just love to have a brief moment of relief from their suffering…. While the Lord gives us things and the ability to earn money and buy things… He wants me content… just like the Apostle Paul… content in ALL things.

10 I rejoiced greatly in the Lord that at last you renewed your concern for me. Indeed, you were concerned, but you had no opportunity to show it. 11 I am not saying this because I am in need, for I have learned to be content whatever the circumstances. 12 I know what it is to be in need, and I know what it is to have plenty. I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation, whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want. 13 I can do all this through him who gives me strength.

Thank you, Lord… for my precious daughter who teaches me how to be content… Amen.

4 thoughts on “A Lesson In Being Content

  1. Aw, that’s so sweet! For the record my hubby was telling me how absolutely adorable she is (I agree) and Keeleigh mentioned to me just the other day how much she favors you so there you go…you’re adorable! = )

    Thinking about those suffering all around the world certainly does put things into perspective as does thinking about Paul and the great hardships he suffered for the sake of the Gospel while I complain about silly everyday things. Thanks for the inspiration!

  2. Michelle, I don’t know how you do it all! I love and miss your kids! I got to know Boy1 and Girl1 a little more than the others, but they were always so kind to me. I love it how these young ones can teach us so much. If Girl1 can keep this same outlook on life as she hits her teenage and adult years, wow, she’ll be able to encourage a LOT of women!

Leave a Reply

